PDA

View Full Version : Kei class are legal in SOME states

comprodigy
10-14-2007, 10:57 PM
The kei class Japanese mini-truck is legal in at least three states that I know of.

Mississippi, Although you have to go through some red tape....

Tenn, heard they passed new regulations, check with local DMV

Kentucky, MUST be registered as a ATV, then can be licensed as atv for LIMITED ON ROAD USE ONLY!

A VERY FEW other states will let you license a 1980 or older kei class, check with local DMV

NOTICE: I AM NOT AN EXPERT!!! THIS IS WHAT I HAVE FOUND THROUGH A LOT OF DIGGING!!!:eek:

This is all legal from ones I have talked to in respective states.:confused:

Wolfman
10-14-2007, 10:59 PM
Texas is on that list as well, with the same red tape work. There are two trucks registered that I'm aware of.

comprodigy
10-15-2007, 08:03 AM
i am a Canadian importer that will be shipping a Suzuki carry to my mother who lives in Wyoming. And it will be street legal! The headlight, tires and side marker lights are all DOT. It will be a street legal truck. I spent a lot of time doing the research and will be braking no laws.

This may cost more though.....:rolleyes:

Might be worth looking in to.:)

AS ALL WAYS, CHECK WITH LOCAL DMV!!

abcminitrucks
10-15-2007, 02:01 PM
Here we go again, Just becuase you get a tag for it...does not make it street legal....well it does, but only until the Federal Govt. decides to step in and stop it. Which means we will all suffer.....

There is no State in the US that that has the authority to override Federal Law and it is Federal Law that makes these trucks for OFF ROAD USE ONLY.

jay woods
10-15-2007, 06:39 PM
Just for what it is worth I called the DMV today here in tennessee, they knew exactly what I was talking about. They said NO, you can not get a title or registration in tennessee. Case closed.

comprodigy
10-15-2007, 08:42 PM