1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

hijet lowering..........help!!!!

Discussion in 'Daihatsu Hi jet' started by superhijet, Jul 2, 2008.

1. superhijet

superhijet Member

hi all, im new to the mini truck scene and need to know how to lower the rear of my '99 van.
    everyone seems to lift mini trucks but does anyone know how or know someone who has done it?
    i cant'flip' the axel because of clearance to the body rails
    any ideas?????
    please help!!!!!!!!!!!

2. gumballf355

gumballf355 Member

cutting torch.

3. Mighty Milt

Mighty Milt Active Member

flip the axle then step notch the frame to compensate for the difference, i don't know what you would use a cutting torch for on leaf spring? that's more for coil spring. or you can have a set of springs made for the rear at any good tuck spring shop, they can probably even just re-arch yours to give you the drop you want, but you will probably end up step notching or c-notching the frame for clearance.

4. superhijet

superhijet Member

thanx for the reply
    if i c-notch the frame will this make the frame weaker at that point?
    have you seen it done on a hijet?
    will i have to move anything else out the way?
    i just want to know what to do so i can do it within a day so im not without the van

just an idea....
    what i reverse the leaf spring?
    or take the front of the spring up on its bracket by drilling the holes higher?

ive never dealt with springs before
    only springs and trumpets on cars that lowererd parts are readily available

5. larryn2o

larryn2o Member

an old hot rod trick would be to heat the eye of the spring and bend it . then put as short a shackle as you can. remove the over load spring. should lower the back.