1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My new baby! 1990 Suzuki Carry

Discussion in 'Introductions' started by ram204, Feb 2, 2024.

1. ram204

ram204 New Member

Hello all!
    My name is Rob and I work as a mechanical engineer. In my free time I enjoy tinkering, 3D printing, playing my synthesizers and my guitar among other things. After 3 years of searching, I have found and brought home what I consider to be a fantastic kei truck. Behold: My 1990 Suzuki Carry DB51T!
    IMG_0137_s.jpg
    She has the 5 speed manual with extra low, 4WD with Axle Lock, 26k km on the odo, and a custom paint job, to name a few things.

The first drive I did, I got a thumbs up from a couple of cars. So, to say that I am elated with my purchase is an understatement.

There are a couple things I need to fix up/upgrade:
    1. Paint: Need to touch up some areas and I'm still not sure how I feel about the yellow Suzuki logo in the front.
    2. Horn: The steering wheel has been replaced with a racing steering wheel from Momo. It is missing the horn button and there is a single wire coming out of the steering column. I ordered a button, but I would expect the horn to sound when grounding the wire against the steering column, except when I do that, nothing happens. I tested the wires with a multimeter and it reads 7 volts. Not sure what's going on there, but looks like I have a bit of an electrical gremlin to chase down.
    3. Bed Mat: The bed mat I got crumbled away into pieces when I tried to pick it up, so I need a new one lol. No rust on the bed though!
    4. RAM mounts: need to put my phone somewhere!
    5. Sun Visor: Gotta find new sun visors! Both are inexplicably missing.