1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Question about distributor cap

Discussion in 'Subaru Sambar' started by blastercheese, Apr 7, 2024.

1. blastercheese

blastercheese Member

So I have a 1996 Subaru Sambar supercharged AWD and I recently replaced the distributor cap. The cap I used had the capped off vacuum line because everywhere I look the distributor cap on the supercharged version is not there as the ECU handles all the vacuum advance. Well my issue is that the distributor cap that was on the truck did have a vacuum advance that went to the body of the truck under the right side of the tail bed. My questions are; why would mine have/need the line, and is there any issues without having it? I will end up putting it back on tomorrow to test as I do have a ~20mph speed loss from what I assume is a vacuum issue, but I don't think it is from this vacuum link.

2. rkrenicki

rkrenicki Active Member

There is no vacuum line for the distributor on the SC model. There is a vent hose on the later models, but it does not connect to anything, just to atmosphere. Sounds like you ended up getting the earlier 1990-early 1996 cap which does not have the vent. There may be other differences between them as well, I have not put both caps side by side to see.

You didnt say if you had a truck or a van, but if your VIN is higher than KS4-305201 (truck) or KV4-157001 (van), then you want the cap with a part number of 22162KA230.

3. blastercheese

blastercheese Member

It's a truck but I have no clue why it has a vent see pic's.

Attached Files:

• 7.jpg
      7.jpg
      File size:
      148.7 KB
      Views:
    • 8.jpg
      8.jpg
      File size:
      83.4 KB
      Views:
    • 9.jpg
      9.jpg
      File size:
      169.9 KB
      Views:
    • 10.jpg
      10.jpg
      File size:
      171.3 KB
      Views:
    • 11.jpg
      11.jpg
      File size:
      90.7 KB
      Views:
    • 12.jpg